Bastian Schweinstei

in Here is your first Forum Thu Jul 24, 2014 9:16 am
by lluggg601 • 6 Posts

Cristiano Ronaldo could win Ballon d'Or as FIFA extend voting period after hat

The contenders: Barcelona's prolific forward Lionel Messi (left) has four Ballon d'Or trophies to his name and Franck Ribery (right) was pitted as favourite after winning the Treble with German giants Bayern MunichWHO CAN VOTE FOR THE GONG? FIFA Football Committee and a group of experts from France Football drew up a 23 man shortlist which was announced on October 29.The award winner is then decided by three groups of voters. The first two are made up of coaches and captains of national teams and the third category is by selected members of the media and press. The only prevailing rule is that players cannot vote for themselves.Ronaldo rose to the occasion in Stockholm on Tuesday night to send Portugal to Brazil and Zlatan Ibrahimovic's Sweden packing.The Real Madrid star scored a sublime second half hat trick in his side's 3 2 win.Ronaldos's Barcelona rivals Messi has won the trophy for the past four seasons, and had another stellar 2012/13, Gabe Jackson Youth Jersey but it was the Treble winning Franck Ribery who was favourite for the gong until Ronaldo's display against Sweden.Ronaldo, who has scored three hat tricks in the past month (two for Real Madrid and one for his country) is now in line to collect his second Ballon d'Or at the January ceremony.THE FULL 23 MAN LIST Gareth Bale (Wales/Real Madrid) Edinson Cavani (Uruguay/PSG) Ronaldo (Portugal/Real Madrid) Radamel Falcao (Colombia/Monaco) Eden Hazard (Belgium/Chelsea) Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Sweden/PSG) Andres Iniesta (Spain/Barcelona) Philipp Lahm (Germany/Bayern Munich) Robert Lewandowski (Poland/Dortmund) Lionel Messi (Argentina/Barcelona) Thomas Muller (Germany/Bayern Munich) Manuel Neuer (Germany/Bayern Munich) Neymar (Brazil/Barcelona) Mesut Ozil (Germany/Arsenal) Andrea Pirlo (Italy/Juventus) Franck Ribery (France/Bayern Demetri Goodson Kids Jersey Munich) Arjen Robben (Holland/Bayern Munich) Bastian Schweinsteiger (Germany/Bayern Munich) Luis Suarez (Uruguay/Liverpool) Thiago Silva (Brazil/PSG) Yaya Toure (Ivory Coast/Manchester City) Robin van Persie (Holland/Manchester United) Xavi (Spain/Barcelona)Meanwhile, Thiago Silva was left red faced when the Brazil captain made a hash of his Ballon d'Or voting.The Paris Saint Germain centre back was clearly under the Demetri Goodson Womens Jersey impression that he was unable to vote for his countryman Neymar, despite the only rule for voting is that you can not vote for yourself.In a wide ranging interview with Globoesporte, Silva discussed his frustration at being unable to vote for his international team mate.He also believes he should come in second place to Barcelona's marquee summer signing and poster boy for the World Cup.'It was a pity that I could not vote for Brazilians,' Silva was quoted as saying.'Neymar would be first and I would have put myself second. Instead, I voted for Messi as first, second Ibra due to all the goals he has scored, and Ronaldo in third.'He did not win any titles last year. They are all great players and any one of them could be there raidersnflofficialauthentic.com/authentic-gabe-jackson-jersey.html as the winner.'

Scroll up

0 Members and 7 Guests are online.

We welcome our newest member: charlestratton6
Board Statistics
The forum has 14377 topics and 18604 posts.